My attempts at astro imaging

California Nebula – 23rd December 2010


I took this on the 23rd of December 2010. It is composed of 9, 10 minute subs – making a total of 1:30hr exposure time.  The first couple of processes of this were pretty dire and I though the data was useless, but tonight I went back and reprocessed it and I a bit happier – happy enough at least to post it!

The California Nebula is a Ha region of space in Perseus – it gets the name as it is supposed to resemble the state of California…..  It is roughly 1000 light years from Earth.

The image was taken with an ED80 and QHY8, I am still not happy with the spacing of the focal reducer, look at the top left of the image and you will see why!

Leave a Reply

