My attempts at astro imaging

Supernova 2011b


Just had to catch this – these things fascinate me, a star that explodes and briefly outshines it’s galaxy!
Supernova 2011b is in the galaxy NGC2655 in the constellation of Camelopaldalis, due to the distance to this galaxy, the star in question that appears to have recently blew up, did in fact go supernova around 64 million years ago!
The image is only 3 x 5min subs due to the clouds and I really need more focal length on this but I suppose that would have entailed longer exposures so I am happy with what I got!

2 responses

  1. Very nice image – I saw this SN visually (my first one) on the 1st february, and what a sight it was – I could even see it at 240X with my 10″ scope! I made a drawing, which is similar to your brilliant picture. It’s a profound object, isn’t it!

    Here’s my drawing:

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/georgekristiansen/5411034778/

    February 3, 2011 at 3:45 pm

  2. It’s quite an amazing drawing you did – at first glance I would have said it was a mono image!
    I would love to see one of these in our galaxy, would be an awesome sight!

    February 3, 2011 at 3:55 pm

Leave a Reply

