My attempts at astro imaging

M97 – The Owl Nebula and M108 Galaxy


This is the 2nd night out with my new F4 imaging Newt, I again had to collimate when on target and also the top left corner is not square on but overall I’m very happy with this.  I do also have one other small problem, I seem to get some red shadow in the centre (I have remove dit in the image here), I think this must be due to the newt primary not having a shield on it and the red LED’s of the various USB devices are shining in.

Anyway, here’s the Owl Nebula and M108 – I am too tired to do a writeup of these objects – M97 is a planetry nebula and M108 is the galaxy at the top of the image.  If you look you can see a number of small very faint galaxies as well.

Leave a Reply

