My attempts at astro imaging

Makarians Chain of galaxies


This has been on my list to redo for a couple of years, I took an image of this area a few years ago and it had loads of dust bunnies that I had no idea how to process out!  This was taken the same night as the supernova image below and as with that I was not entirely pleased with the subs, but an image is an image, and it’s better than my previous attempt!

Makarian’s Chain is a lovely little cluster of galaxies in the larger Virgo Cluster, it’s the sort of area of sky that wherever you point a scope and camera you will find a galaxy or two!  This image was taken with my 8″ F4 Newt (Altair Astro) at 800mm focal length and is a lot ‘closer in’ than the previous one which was taken with a William Optics ZS66 and reducer at around 350mm.  If you look closely you will see a larger number of tiny background galaxies in this image – just imagine that each galaxy holds a few hundred billion stars, then multiply that my the 20 – 30 galaxies in this image, the number is truly astronomical!

As said above, I am not 100% happy with this, so expect another image of it next season!

One response

  1. gary1968

    Nice!!

    April 4, 2012 at 12:02 pm

Leave a Reply

