My attempts at astro imaging

Season 2012 M33


This was taken on the 17th of September and is 4hrs 10mins in 10 minute subs, taken with the usual setup of Altair Astro F4 Imaging Newt and QHY8, guided with a Lodestar in an OAG.

I struggled a bit with some wierd gradients in this image, I think I might go back to Deep Sky Stacker to do the initial stack, rather than using Pixinsight.  Processing, by the way was almost totally done in Pixinsight, with the exception of a couple of little cosmetic tweaks and resizing for the web, these being done in Photoshop.

M33, this is one of the ‘Local Group’ of galaxies surrounding out own Milky Way, and estimates put it around 3 million light years from us, so it’s a little further than Andromeda.  It is around 5,000 light years wide and has quite a few Ha regions (the red blothches) which are areas where new stars are being formed.

It is very faint but is supposedly naked eye from a dark site, although I have been to the Kielder star party and have never managed to even see a hint of it!  If you fancy hunting it down with a scope the finder chart below should help, it’s pretty close to Andromeda, so if you cant find it, just swing across and have a look at M31 instead!

2 responses

  1. My brother recommended I may like this blog. He was totally right. This put up truly made my day. You cann’t consider simply how so much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

    September 23, 2012 at 10:23 am

    • Thanks for your kind comments! It’s great to hear people are enjoying what I do as much as I do!

      September 30, 2012 at 8:02 pm

Leave a Reply

