My attempts at astro imaging

The Iris Nebula from Kielder


This is the first image I have processed form the Kielder star aprty (see the previous post). It is 17 x 15 min subs with the QHY8/8″ F4 Newt and guided by TS OAG and Lodestar – My usual setup!!!

I was genuinly surprised at the amount of dust that is in this image, it is the first time I have captured anything like this much dust and I’m sure it could be better processed but I have been playing about with it for the best part of a week, so I’m gonna post this!

The Irus nebula (NGC7023) is a reflection nebula in Cepheus, the bright, hot young central star is so bright that it is lighting up all the surrounding dust in the image – I love this image, I’m sure there will be a few reprocesses of this coming shortly as well as I tweak things….. I think I might go back and increase the colour of the central nebula but I do like this version, so maybe I should leave well alone?

 

Anyway, what do you think?  Comments as always are most welcome!

 

3 responses

  1. Amazing detail, could be a contender for astronomy picture of the day 🙂

    October 24, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    • Thanks! Would have submitted it but I had a look and a few weeks ago a very similer Iris Nebula image was the APOD!Typical……

      October 24, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    • Gavin,

      Just out of curiosity, can I ask how you found out about my Blog? I see you are also from Edinburgh (A couple of your astro shots are from Blackford hill, just down the road from me).

      Craig

      October 24, 2012 at 11:07 pm

Leave a Reply

