My attempts at astro imaging

Tube Currents……


I have never really bothered about running the fan on the back of my Altair F4 Newt, always thought that since the ‘scope was in an observatory it would be ‘near enough’ ambient temperature.  Well tonight I put it on, just for a few mins whilst I was focussing, all was good, I unplugged it and let the subs roll in…… Then on looking at a couple of them I could see that the stars looked a little like comets, the stars when focussing were lovely and round???? Then I remembered the fan and so nipped outside and plugged the fan back in. Below are a before and after image, I think you will agree the difference is quite noticeable!

 

NoFanFan

 

Leave a Reply

