My attempts at astro imaging

Added another 4hrs of data to Horsehead, this time in Ha


I really wanted to add some good Ha to this image, so the other night, I managed 12x 20 min subs in Ha, this has really brought out the wispy nebulosity behind the horsehead and generally got rid of a lot of noise, I used the original RGB image for the flame area as this is a different  colour and the Ha just made it all red, so the Ha is really in the Horsehead parts only.  This must be my longest ever imaging run, 4hrs in RGB and 4hrs in Ha!!

combinedandcropped

I did a bot of LHE in Pixinsight and came up with this version…..

 

HaRGBHorsehead&Flame - Final Image

 

6 responses

  1. Hi
    Nice pics and site. You seem to be fighting the same weather and light pollution as me – though your images seem to come out better 🙂 I haven’t managed out for quite a few weeks – very depressing.

    I live over on the west of Edinburgh in a bit of countryside between Ratho and East Calder so LP east and west but OK to the south.

    December 10, 2013 at 6:53 pm

    • Are you a member of Scottishastronomers.com ? We meet up in winter, usually at Harperrig reservoir, which must be near you?

      December 10, 2013 at 7:26 pm

      • I’ve been on the forum a few times. Always meant to go down there – never managed it for various reasons. Also none of my kit is particularly portable. Just persuaded a friend to get a SKywatcher Goto dob so must try and persuade him to go down sometime.

        December 10, 2013 at 7:29 pm

  2. You have some nice images on your site, I think I looked at some of your non astro images a while ago.

    December 10, 2013 at 7:38 pm

  3. I’m still using a modded 350D DSLR. I know I need to move on to a CCD at some point.

    December 10, 2013 at 7:46 pm

  4. Ah yes I had one of them, nice camera and can be picked up for buttons nowadays

    December 10, 2013 at 7:47 pm

Leave a Reply

