My attempts at astro imaging

New house, no observatory, for a while……


Well, it’s been ages since I updated this blog!   I moved house in April and have obviously been a bit busy then it was summer etc it’s only now that its getting dark at a reasonable time in Scotland that the kit can come back out….

So, I no longer have an observatory, I am setting everything up in the back garden each time, I was actually surprised how easy it was to polar align with the excellent EQMod software Polar Alignment utility, it seems ages since I have done this!  Anyway, I do have tentative plans to purchase a SkyShed Pod dome next year but that does depend on money, and since it is shipped from Canada might take a while to get here and then I have to work out how to get it from Norfolk to here……. Fingers crossed anyway, it looks good, is quite a bit cheaper than a fibreglass dome and should be ideal for me 🙂

2014-09-07 00.50.32

Last night was clear, although the moon was around but I wanted to test my William Optics ZS70 with the new field flattener (I used a 0.8 Reducer but was not too happy with the blue halos round stars so after a chat with Altair Astro I sent it back and got the 1.0x flattener).  I had a couple of problems, the first was that my target was the double cluster, lots of stars to see halo’s round, but for some reason even though the plate solve worked it was not what appeared on screen 😦 so my 10×5 min subs are of a pretty empty star field! Secondly, I think I still have spacing issues, my setup isQHY8, IR Filter, Extension tube, OAG, Flatten. Today I took it apart and reduced the spacing by a tiny amount, maybe under a mm but we will see (hopefully) tonight if it improves it any.

Look at the corners, in 100% resolution and you will see what I mean.

light_BINNING_1_ABE_clone

2 responses

  1. Oh yeah. I see what you mean about the corners. Congrats on the new house though. Darker than the old place?

    September 18, 2014 at 2:16 pm

    • Yeah think so, still need to wait for some nice dark nights

      September 18, 2014 at 6:32 pm

Leave a Reply

