My attempts at astro imaging

M63 – Sunflower Galaxy


It was cloudy all day yesterday, I only looked outside to see if the cat was wanting in and I saw a lovely clear sky, time for Galaxy hunting!

M63, another galaxy like M51 in Canes Venatici around 37,ooo Light years away and was discovered by Charles Messier’s assistant Pierre Mechain in 1779. I got 16 x 10 minute subs, guiding is still pretty ropey and I think I am going to have to take a look at all my cables etc as something is a little loose, also my polar alignment seems to be slightly off……

I ran this image through the image annotation in Pixinsight, just to show off the other distant galaxies in the image.

 

M63SunflowerGalaxy

M63SunflowerGalaxy_Annotated

Leave a Reply

