My attempts at astro imaging

5hrs on the North American Nebula


As the moon was around last week and the sky was clear I had to use a Hydrogen Alpha filter to stop the moonlight washing out everything.  I only have a colour CCD camera – sticking a Ha filter in front of it means only the red pixels pick up any data and since the Bayer matrix is RGGB I loose 3 quarters of the camera pixels!  The imaging scope was a 70mm F6 scope so I was running at around 4 arcsec/pixel – this combined with throwing away three quarters of my pixels means it not as good as it could have been…. At least with the filter the stars are greatly reduced and the narrow bandpass has got me some good contrast, I think it’s time to move back up to longer focal lengths…

 

NorthAmericaNebula

Leave a Reply

